The Association of Governing Boards (AGB) assembled a Task Force to study the question of how to ensure effective board governance across the nation’s approximately 55 public higher education systems.  Kevin Reilly, president emeritus of the University of Wisconsin System, chaired the Task Force in collaboration with NASH and its chair, Nancy Zimpher, Chancellor of the State University of New York.  The Task Force produced a set of significant recommendations that were recently released in the AGB report Consequential Board Governance in Public Higher Education Systems.   


Formed in 1979 for the purpose of seeking improvement in the organization and governance of public higher education systems, NASH serves as a forum for the exchange of views and information among its members and with other higher education organizations, with special attention to the perspectives, problems, and opportunities of heads of systems as a unique category of higher education executives.

Learn More

Board of Directors

Committee Members

Hank Bounds

President, University of Nebraska

Lee Jackson

Chancellor, University of North Texas System

Eileen Klein

President, Arizona Board of Regents

David Lassner

President, University of Hawai'i System


Robert L. Caret

Chancellor, University System of Maryland

Rebecca Martin

Executive Director, NASH

Timothy White

Chancellor, California State University System

Nancy Zimpher

Chancellor, State University of New York (SUNY)

Contact Button